Audio Export Problems

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
sncold

27 Jul 2016

Hello, friends!

I am new to these boards, and I'm also quite new to Reason and audio production in general. I am an aspiring musician who doesn't have the funds to pay for studio time, so I'm attempting to create the music I want to make on my own. So a while ago I purchased Reason because I liked the MIDI sounds it came with, and I planned on using them with some Wind Controllers that I own and my MIDI keyboard as well.

I am now at the point where I have finished an entire new piece that I absolutely love using mostly MIDI sounds, plus a couple of audio tracks. However when I went to export the song to a .wav file, the playback is horrendous. It's extremely thin, and it sounds WAY more compressed than it should (even though obviously I should expect some compression). Pretty much every sound seems to be buried, so you can't really hear a lot of what is going on like you can when playing it within Reason. I've looked around everywhere and asked several people about the issue, and I just don't know enough about a lot of the technology to fully understand what I need to do. I read this entire thread as well, which seems to be a similar issue to what I'm having: http://www.reasontalk.com/viewtopic.php?t=7491447. This thread led me to believe that it was an audio driver issue, but I'm still not sure if that's the case. And if it is, I don't know what to do about it!