Shame on you PH!

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
Luxuria

01 Mar 2017

You know, I've always heard PH doesn't care about their old customer base but I never thought I'd be shafted so soon as a 8.3 user. I'm now part of a niche community that for being only 1 update behind (choosing to skip version 9), I feel drastically separated from the rest of the pack.

This all stems from the inability to purchase certain rack extensions now that the new SDK update with 9.2 is out.

Really? As a developer, I'd feel undercut as well. PH really can't auto detect the reason version I have and sell me the last compatible version? So now I'm pissed feeling cut off from a market that prides itself on continuous support. How have developers not made any statements supporting their customers who would like to purchase their product who aren't on 9.2? Don't you want a bigger the piece of the pie?

Where was the warning? If I knew I couldn't purchase Expanse after the update, I would have done something to make the purchase even though the money wasn't available at the time. Now I'm left with a $129 "pay wall" to have to purchase exclusive RE's from the market. It never bothered me before, but the lack of transparency from PH really hurts their customers.

Seeing at this isn't the first time PH has chosen to make updates at the worst time possible (0.X updates). And the lack of cross over time makes me believe it was done only to boost Reason 9 sales, aka, new customers.

I hope the developers can back us (old) customers up and get PH to implement a "last compatible version" for their products.

Until then, I'll be in contemplative limbo of whether or not to boycott RE's or try to purchase what's left before the next buss leaves with the next wave of RE's (The Legend, Nostromo, Vecto, etc...)

househoppin09

01 Mar 2017