Question to RE Developers: Can you make a living from RE Development?

This forum is for discussing Rack Extensions. Devs are all welcome to show off their goods.
altron

10 Jul 2015

The title basically says it all. Can you as a RE developer alone make a living from RE development, i.e. does it pay your bills? It would be cool to hear some average profit figures from RE developers.

I'm asking because I'm interested in RE development but I have to evaluate whether it's worth the time and efforts. I'm primarily a software engineer but not yet familiar with DSP programming. However I'm interested in it now and recently had some good ideas for several effect REs that don't exist as that on the RE store yet. I want to develop REs because I love that format so I don't really want to invest in developing VST plugins but I will no doubt have to go through a lot of VST/AU/etc. plugins code because RE development resources are very sparsely seeded, essentially consisting only of what comes with the RE SDK.

Also, on a related note: Shouldn't this forum have a RE dev section?! (because the off. RE dev forum at PH seems dead.) *hint* *hint*
Trap is where music goes to die.

Benedict
Competition Winner

10 Jul 2015

Hi

I haven't developed an RE but a few ReFills and before that 4 collections of VST. I can pretty confidently say that the answer to your question is statistically very likely to be No. I would even give the same answer if you asked the question about VST.

However if you have some great ideas coupled with the staying power to develop and support then there is at least some nice petrol money to be made. Also you will gain resume pieces and some experiences you will never get as a pure consumer.

Personal advice: if you come into it thinking you will be rich and famous overnight then you will be very upset and leave a trail of damage. If you do this because you have something you need to make then you will profit - even if only in unexpected ways.

:)