Tips for using Softube's FET compressor?

This forum is for discussing Rack Extensions. Devs are all welcome to show off their goods.
Neosaki

29 Sep 2015

Does anybody have any tips for using the FET? I'm not a novice when it comes to compressors, but I always seem to have a hard time getting the FET to sound right to me, which is irritating since I know it is such a great compressor. I think the input knob is throwing me off for some reason, I'm not sure why. I've used Reason's masterclass compressor for years and never had an issue dialing in a setting, and that had an input knob.

Does anybody have any tips for using this thing? I'm interested in any rules of thumb you use when dialing in a setting, or if you have any general settings for certain instruments, or vocals. Also, I've heard it mentioned on here that somebody uses the FET in conjunction with Cakewalk's RE-2A, I'd be curious if anybody else does this, and how they go about getting the two to work together.

nooomy

30 Sep 2015

Maybe you just don't like the sound of the FET?
Not all compressors are for everyone, instead of forcing it, look at some tutorials of the FET and recreate their settings and see if that works for you. Otherwise don't use it.
it's suppose to be a tool help u in your creative process. If it doesn't help you or even hinder you don't use it

Tincture

30 Sep 2015

I like the FET (and ChanComp by FXpansion) for certain things but not for others. The FET is not my most used compressor by any means and I think that's due to its nature. It's just not my sort of sound for certain things.

As for use, I find that keeping the Gain Reduction to my preferred kind of levels guides me on what the value of the other knobs are set at. I also tend to use it to either exaggerate transients (slow attack, quick release) or to kill transients (quick attack, moderate release). It's also a nice compressor for riding basses (evening them out) IMO.