Mixing in Reason

This forum is for discussing Rack Extensions. Devs are all welcome to show off their goods.
dperez

05 May 2017

I'm trying to learn more about mixing and mastering tracks in Reason. I'm just wondering, which EQ and compressors work better? The ones on the SSL mixer? Or do plugins like the Mclass, Softube Fet, and GQ-7 work just fine? Or does it even really matter...Thanks! :thumbs_up: :D

Loque

05 May 2017

I think there is "no better", its a matter of taste what works best to get the desired results. I like C1-L1, but i would wait for VST support than you can get Molot for free and its the same. C670 and SSL are easy and work good. FET is for special purposes. Kratos is a very good maximizer and on sale atm. GQ-7, MP5 and TubeTech are very good EQs for mastering, but wait for VST - you can get tons of EQs.
Reason12, Win10

TritoneAddiction
Competition Winner

05 May 2017

I have no experience with VST plugins except for Ozone.
But as far as mixing with rack extensions my favorites are GQ-7, FRG-EEE Equalizer and FRG-4RE Compressor. I use the FRG ones a lot on drums.
I find all three of them to be DSP friendly as well which is a bonus.

Don't forget Saturation Knob (for free) if you haven't got it already.

Marco Raaphorst

05 May 2017

Keep it simple. The SSL mixer is enough for creating superb sounding mixes.

If I mix something no one is able to tell if it was mixed by "just" the SSL or some super expensive plugins. No one.

Loque

05 May 2017

TritoneAddiction wrote:I have no experience with VST plugins except for Ozone.
But as far as mixing with rack extensions my favorites are GQ-7, FRG-EEE Equalizer and FRG-4RE Compressor. I use the FRG ones a lot on drums.

FRG compressor can produces equivalent results like FET on high settings, but on a much lower price. Very good compressor too, idd.
Reason12, Win10

TritoneAddiction
Competition Winner

05 May 2017

Loque wrote: