Kompulsion Manual Missing

This forum is for discussing Rack Extensions. Devs are all welcome to show off their goods.
Jackjackdaw

04 Jan 2024

The link to the manual for Kompulsion on the product page is dead. Could someone share it with me please?

waxwingslain

08 Jan 2024

While we're talking about Kompulsion, can someone tell me how to record the audio output of a Kompulsion sequencer Combinator? I'm a Reason newbie, and I can hear the pattern I made running and it's making exactly the sound I want, but when I hit record there's nothing there. Maybe tell me how to route the track to an audio track? I've tried Direct Record and it doesn't seem to do anything.

challism

08 Jan 2024

waxwingslain wrote:
08 Jan 2024
While we're talking about Kompulsion, can someone tell me how to record the audio output of a Kompulsion sequencer Combinator? I'm a Reason newbie, and I can hear the pattern I made running and it's making exactly the sound I want, but when I hit record there's nothing there. Maybe tell me how to route the track to an audio track? I've tried Direct Record and it doesn't seem to do anything.
Kompulsion is a MIDI player, so it doesn't make sound on its own; it plays MIDI notes (which are silent). Those notes are fed to the instrument below it and the instrument makes the sound. I'm not 100% sure what you are trying to do, but if you are trying to write Kompulsion's MIDI notes to a sequencer track, you first have to arm the instrument, not the player. But it will be a MIDI track, not an audio track.

If you want to record the audio from the instrument, you can do so by hooking up the control room out to the audio sampling input on the back of the rack's mastering section. Open a sampler (Mimic, Grain, NNXT, etc). Solo the Kompulsion driven instrument and record it to the sampler by clicking the "start sampling" button near the sample browser of the sampler.
0.png
0.png (665.07 KiB) Viewed 6786 times
Players are to MIDI what synthesizers are to waveforms.