Reason EDM producers, how long to create a track?

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
fotizimo

02 Feb 2017

Hey there,

This might be the wrong section, but am wondering how long most people take to finish a track? I tend to write progressive house/techno tracks, and find it takes me forever to get anything done. I can spend so many sessions I am working on a track just working the drums, or developing a bass sound. I am not a pro, and do this when not working my normal job, but am wondering how many hours some of you would say each track takes.

So I started wondering how long some of the people here take to complete a track? I see these RE-specific competition threads, and I see some people have tracks up in days, and I can never enter as it takes me so long to complete a simple track.
Fotizimo @ Instagram
:reason: on Surface Pro 4
Nektar Impact 25
Novation Launchkey Mini
Arturia SparkLE Spark Codec for Reason

FlowerSoldier

02 Feb 2017

I've spent months on songs, but just because I'm working on them doesn't mean I'm making them better.

Frankly, the ideas I'm happiest with come together in a few hours. Then I'll work on arranging and mixing down for a week or so.

My favorite projects are simple: I try to go for 5 or 6 tracks that work together in an interesting way. Anything more than that and I'm willing to consider I'm putting lipstick on a pig.

But, also the more you practice the better you'll get so enjoy the ride. It's a rabbit hole and you can go as deep as you want.
[edit: spelling]

JamesKerwin

02 Feb 2017

I do mostly progressive house, too. Usually if I spend a few hours a day and hit it heavy on weekends, I can have an idea go from start to finish in 2-3 weeks. However lately I haven't had the luxury of that time so it takes a bit longer - plus I've been working on multiple tracks at once.